My 24 hour YouTube video remix challenge (done in 10 hours)

I’ve been wanting to remix a YouTube video for ages, but it’s something I always put off. Not a video in particular, just any random video that inspires me.

A bit of background on myself. Making my music (Synaecide) involves a lot of heavy editing to samples. There’s just something about zooming all the way into the arranger view of Cubase, cutting up, then manipulating little bits of audio into a track that gets me going. In high school I did a bit of video editing in media class, but since then I haven’t touched the visual side of things. Having said that, it’s an idea I’ve always been excited about.

To get myself motivated, the idea was to pick a video and have a finished remix in 24 hours. The video I picked was Elders React to Dubstep (Skrillex).

I ended up finishing it after about 10 hours of work. Here ’tis!

For those interested, this is the outline of the process:

  1. Record the audio from the video
  2. Bring the audio file into Cubase and cut out single audio samples (ones that don’t have any background music or sound that taint the sample)
  3. Create a drum beat and main ‘hook’ bassline
  4. Put the sounds from the video into a (very) loose order of narrative to give it some form of cohesion
  5. Limit the sh*t out of the mix
  6. Rip the video
  7. Pop the audio and video into Premier
  8. Spend hours editing the video and making it look like the people being interviewed are doing the sounds with their mouths
  9. and Presto!

Leave a Reply

