Carpe Zythum – Kinect controlled pipe organ (full performance)

“Carpe Zythum”, a performance with Elise Richards (Vocals) and Chris Vik (myself controlling the organ with the Kinect) along with a pre-composed piece written by both Elise and I. It was performed in November 2011 at the Melbourne Town Hall. This is the full video of the performance. If you’d like to see a video explaining how it works see last weeks video Controlling a 4-story organ with the Kinect

I’ve created my own software Kinectar, which allows the use of the Kinect to control MIDI devices, ie. playing notes through simple gestures and motion – I hooked this up to the organ.

For more information on my gesture-based music projects, see my blog I love the Future
Video produced by Unkle Nicnac Films

2 thoughts on “Carpe Zythum – Kinect controlled pipe organ (full performance)

  1. Chris Vik you are so going revolutionize our ways with music!! Well done and good luck with your performance at the Science Festival!

Leave a Reply

