Dance Controlled Kinect Music (Part 1)

Since April 2011 I’ve been working solidly with the Microsoft Kinect, developing my software, Kinectar, to enable its use as a MIDI controller for performing music live. I’ve done a number of performances around Australia since I started the project, however, it’s safe to say that, although I would consider myself an electronic musician, I’m certainly no dancer. Enter, Paul…

Dancer, Paul Walker and I have joined forces to bring the Kinect controlled music concept into the world of contemporary dance. Recently we obtained a residency at PACT theatre (centre for emerging artists), where we spent the week developing different ways of implementing my Kinect music control system in a dance context.

My system is developed in Max and uses OpenNI drivers, OSCeleton and Ableton Live.

2 thoughts on “Dance Controlled Kinect Music (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: From Beautiful Ambient Modern Dance to Dubstep, Gestures to Music in Kinect (Download the Tool) | Dorchase

  2. Pingback: Kinect + performance = – blog do nsa

Leave a Reply

